Gastrointestinal Stromal Tumor

Please read, and agree to, the Agreement Announcement prior to posting your personal story.

Gastrointestinal Stromal Tumor

Postby gist07 » Thu Oct 15, 2009 6:11 pm

Those words were pretty confusing when I first heard them. Though I am a two and a half year survivor, I'm still not an expert on it and I don't think anyone else is either. I suppose I'm just looking for someone with a similar diagnosis that could maybe make the experience a little less surreal.
My journey began in late January 2007. I came home late from work, tired, but not much different from any other night of waiting tables. I sat on the couch, had a beer and watched some of the news. As I was getting ready for bed, I suddenly had an intense pain in my gut. I doubled over and writhed on the bed for about 10-15 minutes (seemed like an eternity) until the pain finally subsided. It was still sore and tender to the touch, but I passed it off as bad gas pain.
When I was still sore a couple days later, I called in to work and went to a local doc in a box. He did some blood work and poked around a bit. He said I had a mild infection and that the location of the pain made him believe it was appendicitis. He told me to check in the hospital which I did. The ER docs did more blood work, scans, etc. and told me it was probably Meckel's diverticulum. They planned laproscopic surgery for the next day.
Waking up in the recovery room, my mother and sister came in. My sister wanted to see my scar right away. Instead of a couple of small holes, they had sliced me from top to bottom it seemed. In fact it was a standard five or six inch mid-line incision. Whatever they found, they took out removing a two and a half inch portion of my small bowel and fit the pieces back together. A couple of days later, the surgeon gave me the news.